Independent Creation; or, People copying me because I’m a fucking God.

by Wouldn't you like to know?

Like a plumber desperate for work, I love bringing up old shit and hate when other people do it.

Reading ‘Stuff‘ by Eric Mason (originally published as a collection in 1984, 2 years prior to his death), and on pages 59-61, there’s a move that is almost identical to Chad Nelson’s Clipshift (published in 2008). The manner in which the pack is held is slightly different in the original technique, BUT he then goes on to explain the “Topsyturvy Fast” handling, which is the same mechanics AND grip as the Clipshift. Mr. Mason used the move as a delayed change i.e. showing the face card, turning the pack over, then back up to show it has changed, while Chad used it for a visual change of the top card.

Also, Mr. Mason goes into using the same mechanics for a palm or dribble control.
What a badass.

A big salute to Eric Mason for being the uncredited pioneer of this move.

Also, there has been a recent point of interest in Mathieu Bich’s new effect ‘Edge‘ in comparison to Tyler Wilson’s ‘Happy Ending’ in his book ‘Reinventing the Real‘.. Bich performed his version on a French talk show in 2001, while Tyler independently created the same effect and method in 2004, fleshed it out in 2006 and published it in some lecture notes before finally publishing it in his book in 2010.

Is Tyler bitter about this?

No.

Here’s his response:

Hey Guys,
Let’s all head over to Theory 11 and tell them what we really think!!!

That we love Edge.

It turns out Bich was first. He never published it, but Theory 11 has just released footage of him performing it on French television back in 2001 http://t11.tv/V0IxBO . I didn’t start working on the concept until 2004, fully fleshing out the trick you see in Reinventing the Real in 2006. So he clearly predates me. He gets the credit, plain and simple.

After chatting with Jonathan Bayme, the deck and handling that they’re releasing is genuinely top notch. It makes the trick almost self-working, resetting instantly, and allows for the word change (which, again, looks phenomenal and is game changing). So I wholeheartedly support their DVD and wish them the utmost success!

Thanks again for the concern, everyone. You’re too good to me.

Tyler Wilson

So, instead of being a huge prick about it, Tyler took the high road and supports the project. If it were me, I still would have claimed it as my own. I tend to do that with every move and idea that gets published. Because you motherfuckers are stealing from me. GET OUT OF MY BRAIN!!!!@@@EE@!

I wonder what Bich’s thoughts on this independent creation are?

Any other independent creation stories you guys know about? Tell me, so I can dispute them and say that I predated them.

Sweating profusely,
LH

